A framework for institutionalizing quality assurance

This article in the International Journal for Quality in Health Care introduces URC’s framework to support the institutionalization of quality assurance (QA). The framework consists of a model of eight essential elements (e.g., rewarding quality) and a roadmap for the (nonlinear) process of institutionalization, which comprises four phases (awareness, experiential, expansion, and consolidation) and culminates in maturity. At the time of publication, URC had introduced the framework in nearly a dozen developing countries, supporting Ministry of Health work plans.

Silimperi DR, L Franco Miller, T Veldhuyzen van Zanten, and C Mac Aulay, “A framework for institutionalizing quality assurance,” International Journal for Quality in Health Care 14(2002)67-73.

Publication Date 
December 2002
Resource Type 
Peer-reviewed Journal Articles
Regions/ Countries